According to the present ‘Parkes Development’ in Clarence Street, Sydney this subdivision by them had to be post-1958 after they ‘commenced in a small way’.
This quality Murray View postcard portrayed the idyllic setting at Paradise Beach in the 1950s. We’re sure the current residents would agree it is still an idyllic setting. It appears to be a king tide[…]
The hand-written caption by Nan Henry says it all – ‘Paradise Beach where we spent many happy holidays 1915’. Difficult to recognise if it weren’t for the caption, the site has changed dramatically since these[…]
This photo from 1968 shows members of the newly-formed Avalon Preservation Trust and some locals, putting the finishing touches to the gateway at the Palmgrove Road entrance to Angophora Reserve. Familiar faces (L-R) are Margaret[…]
This poster from the late 1960s was contributed to by the Avalon Preservation Trust (APT), several other like-minded organisations and many locals concerned at the threat of ‘out-of-control’ building by developers and speculators.The threat to[…]
Jervis Sparks used the spelling ‘Barranjoey’ for the headland because that was the spelling used during the period of manned occupation. We chose to respect that decision.
This is a copy of the invitation from Mr and Mrs A.J.Small to attend the official opening of the Avalon Beach Miniature Golf Links in 1930. Unfortunately it was built during the Depression and it[…]
This amazing photograph is actually a ‘frame grab’ from footage shot by Mr Small in the very early 1930s. It shows the fascinating hole called ‘Mount Vesuvius’ and it was the job of an early[…]