These are our recently scanned photos. We have a collection of many more that are being progressively scanned, check back often for new additions.
Jervis Sparks used the spelling ‘Barranjoey’ for the headland because that was the spelling used during the period of manned occupation. We chose to respect that decision.
To promote the screening of ‘Grand Prix’ at the Avalon Cinema’ in 1966, Arnold Spry came up with the innovative idea of displaying an actual open-wheeler similar to the one in which Alec Mildren won[…]
For some years in the 1950s Gwen Searl kept a ‘minute book’ in which she recorded the ‘going-ons’ around Avalon Beach, including the school. She even pasted in this book the butts from the Opening[…]
This photo taken in 1923 shows Alan Hay with his daughter Irene on his lap. Alan had married Clara Dorothy Collier in 1919. His other daughter Evelyn sits between the two Butcher children and her[…]
This detail from Arthur Rickard’s ‘Pearl of Pittwater Estate’ subdivision plan shows the view in 1920 from Hudson Parade down Delecta Avenue towards the present-day turning circle and boat launching area adjacent to the car[…]
This unique photo is one of our favourites and is a one-third part of a panorama shot from the present roundabout at ‘Kamikaze Corner’ in late 1921. (Old) Barrenjoey Road sweeps from left to right[…]
This north-east view along (Old) Barrenjoey Road was taken in 1923. Sanders Lane is yet to be formed as is The Crescent. In the left of the picture is the first general store on the[…]
This photo of the golf course appears to have been taken around 1928, the year when the (new) Barrenjoey Road was made around the top of the course. It shows the old 7th hole, which[…]